3rd Youth Science Policy Awards of Excellence

Conference Day: 
Day 1 - November 1st 2017

CSPC is proud to present its 3rd Annual Youth Science Policy Awards of Excellence which follows in the spirit of our 2013 Young Generation Award.

This award recognizes a young individual (student, postdoctoral fellow, researcher, entrepreneur, etc.) under the age of 35 who developed an innovative and compelling evidence-based policy proposal that will make a positive difference to Canadians.

Proposals were to be connected to one or more of the themes for the 2017 CSPC Conference. This award is designed not only to highlight innovative, evidence-driven policy ideas, but also to encourage innovative young people who may not currently be studying, or working on, public policy to develop and share their policy ideas.

The Selection Committee was so impressed by the quality of the submissions and the dedication of the applicants that they wanted to share the best of these innovative evidence based policy proposals with the CSPC community.

CSPC 2017 Science Policy Excellence Award – Youth (Download a PDF of the top 2017 Award proposals)

CSPC 2016 Science Policy Excellence Award – Youth (Download a PDF of the top 2016 Award proposals)

Congratulations to our 2017 winner Sierra Clark of McGill University for her proposal, “Residential wood-burning in Canada: Health and climate effects and intervention strategies”

Sierra Clark

And to our runners-up, Dr. Deena Hamza of the University of Alberta for her proposal, “A Proactive and Cost-Effective Approach to Reducing Mental Illnesses” and Meagan Grabowski of the Yukon Government for her proposal, “Modernizing the Yukon Scientists and Explorers Act”.

Dr. Deena Hamza

Meagan Grabowski