Watch the CSPC 2021 Award Ceremony

Canadian Science Policy Centre (CSPC) recognizes individuals who exceptionally contribute to the fields of science policy and youth who show innovative evidence-based policy that positively impacts Canadians.” Upon Mehrdad’s return for the conference in two weeks, I will ask him if more description is needed here.

Image of a leaf-shaped trophy on a blue background

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

The CSPC Science Policy Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to science policy, and throughout their career have championed and inspired the science policy community in Canada. This award recognizes the work of individuals who have worked in science policy over a period of many years and made a deep impact in Canadian science policy.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is nominated and selected by the CSPC Board of Directors. CSPC encourages all individuals and/or organizations to forward names of any persons who they believe might deserve to be nominated for this award to CSPC ( The CSPC is committed to the principles of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion and encourages individuals from all groups to apply. An individual may win the CSPC award only once.

A headshot of an old, white man in glasses

2021 – Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Peter Nicholson

Chair of the Board, Canadian Institute for Climate Choices

A picture of a man holding a leaf-shaped glass trophy

2020 – Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Robert Slater

Adjunct Professor in the School of Public Policy and Administration at Carleton University

Executive Director of the Regulatory Governance Initiative

presentor appreciation

2019 – Winner: Paul Dufour

Principal, Paulicy Works

Senior Fellow, Institute for Science, Society & Policy, University of Ottawa

Trailblazer Award Winners

The CSPC Trailblazer Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated novelty, creativity and impact through leadership, vision, courage, and commitment to the overall advancement of the science and innovation policy ecosystem. These individuals have been instrumental in the Canadian policy environment by boldly spearheading change via one or more transformative initiatives, all while blazing a trail and inspiring others to follow.

CSPC 2022 will present two Trailblazer Awards, one in each of the categories of Science Policy and Innovation Policy.

CSPC encourages nominations from all disciplines of science (natural sciences and engineering, social and human sciences, and health sciences) and policy, and from all sectors (governments at all levels, academia, private and nonprofit sectors, media, and others).

A photo of a black woman smiling in a yellow suit and zebra print shirt

2021 – Trailblazer Award (Innovation Policy) Winner: Josephine Etowa

Professor, University of Ottawa

Senior Investigator, Centre for Research on Health and Nursing

a bald white man smirking at the camera

2021 – Trailblazer Award  (Science Policy) Winner: Yann Joly

Research Director, Centre of Genomics and Policy

A picture of a woman with curly hair holding a leaf-shaped glass trophy

2020 – Trailblazer Award Winner: Dr. Cara Tannenbaum

Scientific Director of the Canadian Institutes of Health (CIHR’s) Institute of Gender and Health

Professor in the Faculties of Medicine and Pharmacy at the Université de Montréal

Youth Award Winners

This award recognizes a young individual (student, postdoctoral fellow, researcher, entrepreneur, etc.) under the age of 35 who proposes an innovative and compelling evidence-based policy that will make a positive difference to Canadians. This award is designed not only to highlight innovative, evidence-driven policy ideas by policy students and young professionals, but also to encourage young people not currently studying, or working on, public policy to share their policy ideas.

Eligible recipients include all young Canadian residents under 35, regardless of their field of study or work.

A headshot of an indian woman with long hair and a purple shirt

2021 – Winner: Shaarika Sarasija

Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Ottawa

Topic: Step up: Finding respite care for persons living with dementia among students of Canadian health professions

Runners up:

  • Taylor Reidlinger – A Call to Modernize Canadian Fisheries Policy: for Better Community Well-being, Food Security, Climate Resilience, and Economic Prosperity
  • Hannah Rahim – The need for community-driven phenomenological research to address the suicide crisis among Indigenous peoples in Canada
A picture of a white woman holding a trophy

2020 – Winner: Hannah Harrison

Postdoctoral Scholar, Department of Geography, Environment & Geomatics, University of Guelph

Topic: Improving seafood direct-marketing for Canadian economic resilience and food security

award presentation

2019 – Winner: Emily De Sousa

Graduate, Department of Geography, Environment and Geomatics, University of Guelph

Topic: Eliminating Seafood Fraud: A Fishy Approach to Food Policy

conference speakers

2018 – Winner: Jessica Kolopenuk

PhD Candidate, Faculty of Native Studies, University of Alberta

Topic: An Indigenous Approach to Canada’s National Missing Persons DNA Program

conference plaque presentation

2017 – Winner: Sierra Clark

MSc Candidate, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health, McGill University

Topic: Residential Woodburning in Canada: Health and Climate Effects and Intervention Strategies

conference speakers

2016 – Winner: Amani Saini

Master of Public Administration, Dalhousie University and Bachelor’s of Political Science, University of British Columbia

Topic: Using Genetic Tests to Prevent Adverse Drug Reactions