Watch the CSPC 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award Ceremony

The CSPC Science Policy Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to science policy, and throughout their career have championed and inspired the science policy community in Canada. This award recognizes the work of individuals who have worked in science policy over a period of many years and made a deep impact in Canadian science policy.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is nominated and selected by the CSPC Board of Directors. CSPC encourages all individuals and/or organizations to forward names of any persons who they believe might deserve to be nominated for this award to CSPC ( The CSPC is committed to the principles of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion and encourages individuals from all groups to apply. An individual may win the CSPC award only once.

Image of a leaf-shaped trophy on a blue background
A headshot of an old, white man in glasses

2021 – Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Peter Nicholson

Chair of the Board, Canadian Institute for Climate Choices

A picture of a man holding a leaf-shaped glass trophy

2020 – Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Robert Slater

Adjunct Professor in the School of Public Policy and Administration at Carleton University

Executive Director of the Regulatory Governance Initiative

presentor appreciation

2019 – Winner: Paul Dufour

Principal, Paulicy Works

Senior Fellow, Institute for Science, Society & Policy, University of Ottawa