Loading Events

Event Schedule

Tuesday April 27
12:00 – 4:30 pm EDT

12:00 – 1:10 Session I: Keynote Address: The Impact of Budget 2021 on the Performance of Canada’s National R&D/Innovation Ecosystem 

David Watters, President & CEO, Global Advantage Consulting

Click here for the talk slides

1:15 – 1:45 Session II: Panel of Discussants: Commentary & Critical Analysis

Robert Asselin, Senior Vice President, Policy, Business Council of Canada
Janet King, Retired federal Public Servant
Irene Sterian, Founder, President & CEO, REMAP; Director, Technology & Innovation, Celestica
David Wolfe, Professor of Political Science, UTM, Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

2:00 – 3:00 Session III: Superclusters 

Bill Greuel, CEO, Protein Industries Canada
Amy Lemay, Science Advisor, VISTA Science & Technology Inc.
Kendra MacDonald, CEO, Canada’s Ocean Supercluster
Jayson Myers, CEO, Next Generation Manufacturing Canada (NGen)

3:30 – 4:30 Session IV: Business & Industry 

Namir Anani, President & CEO, Information and Communications Technology Council
Karl Blackburn, President & CEO, Conseil du patronat du Québec
Tabatha Bull, President & CEO, Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business
Karen Churchill, President & CEO, Ag-West Bio Inc.
Angela Mondou, President & CEO, TECHNATION
Karimah Es Sabar, CEO & Partner of Quark Venture LP; Chair, Health/Biosciences Economic Strategy Table

Wednesday April 28
2:00 – 4:30 pm EDT

2:00 – 3:15 Session V: Academia and the Next Generation

Alice Aiken, Vice-President Research & Innovation, Dalhousie University
Charmaine B. Dean, Vice-President, Research & International, University of Waterloo
Michèle Hébert, Director-At-Large, Canadian Association of Postdoctoral Scholars
Lisa Kalynchuk, Vice-President Research and Innovation, University of Victoria
Steven Liss, Vice-President, Research and Innovation & Professor of Chemistry and Biology, Faculty of Science, Ryerson University
Madison Rilling, Project Manager, Optonique, Québec’s Optics & Photonics Cluster | Youth Council Member – Office of the Chief Science Advisor of Canada


3:30 – 4:30 Session VI: Non-Governmental Organizations 

Andre Albinati, Principal, Earnscliffe Strategy Group; Advisor, CSPC Board
Genesa M. Greening, President & CEO, BC Women’s Health Foundation
Nizar Ladak, Chief Executive Officer, New Digital Research Infrastructure Organization
Maya Roy, CEO, YWCA Canada
Gisèle Yasmeen, Executive Director, Food Secure Canada

All Events