Loading Events

Dr. Imogen R. Coe is a professor of Chemistry and Biology at Ryerson University and an affiliate scientist at St. Michael’s Hospital inToronto. She is an academic scientist and former academic leader being the founding dean of the Faculty of Science at Ryerson from 2012-2018. She is currently the President of the Canadian Molecular Biosciences Society and sits on various boards including the Michael Garron Hospital and Science Rendezvous. In addition to her work as a research scientist, Dr. Coe is an award-winning advocate and activist in Canada with respect to the integration of principles of inclusion, diversity, equity and accessibility (IDEA) particularly into research cultures in academic science, research and medicine. She acts as a consultant to various research intensive organizations and also advises academia, government and industry on the best practices towards creating cultures of care and inclusive excellence in science. 

Dr. Cara Tannenbaum is a professor in the Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy at the Université de Montréal and an international expert in Sex and Gender-Based Analysis. She holds positions as the Departmental Science Advisor to Health Canada and is also the Scientific Director of the Institute of Gender and Health for the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.

Dr. Janni Aragon, she/her/hers, is an Adjunct Assistant Professor in Political Science at the University of Victoria. She has taught courses on American Politics, Political Theory, Gender and Politics, Feminist Theory, Gender and International Relations, Model United Nations Simulation, Internship in Political Science, as well as numerous Women’s Studies courses at the University of Victoria and San Diego State University. Dr. Aragon was the 2011-13 Chair of the Academic Women’s Caucus at UVic. In this capacity, Aragon represents all women faculty and librarians at all equity, diversity, and human rights meetings. She also sits on the Senate in the Learning and Teaching Committee.

Professor Alice B. Aiken, CD, PhD, MSc, BScPT, BSc, is the Vice President – Research & Innovation at Dalhousie University in  Halifax, Canada. Her research focuses on health systems transformation and evidence informed policy-making with a focus on military and Veterans. Dr. Aiken is currently the Vice  Chair of the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and Chair of the board of Research Nova Scotia.

Dr. El Chenier, they/them, is a historian of gender, sexuality, race, and colonization at Simon Fraser University where she also serves as president of Academic Women. In their recently released report Radical Inclusion: Equity and Diversity for Female Faculty at Simon Fraser University, they argue that equity work means practicing an ethic of care in solidarity across difference. They currently train scholars and administrators in these principles and methods in action-oriented presentations and workshops. 

Dr. Taima Moeke-Pickering is a Maori of the Ngati Pukeko and Tuhoe tribes. She is a full professor in the School of Indigenous Relations at Laurentian University where she teaches courses on Indigenous research methodologies, international Indigenous issues, and United Nations and Indigenous social work. She has extensive experience working with international Indigenous communities, evaluative research, big data analysis, and photovoice methodologies.  She is co-editor of the book Decolonizing & Indigenizing Education in Canada (2020) and lead editor for the book Critical Reflections and Politics for Advancing Women in the Academy (2020).

All Events

Youth Perspectives on Climate Change

Jun 13 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT

CSPC Budget Symposium 2024

May 1 @ 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm EDT

Canadian Science Policy Conference 2023

Nov 13, 2023 - Nov 15, 2023

Canada-Brazil Cooperation and Collaboration in STI

Oct 13, 2023 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm EDT