Watch the CSPC 2021 Trailblazer Award Ceremony

The CSPC Trailblazer Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated novelty and creativity through leadership, vision, courage, and commitment, and positively and significantly impacted the Canadian Science, Technology and Innovation ecosystem. These individuals have been instrumental in boldly spearheading change via one or more transformative initiatives, while blazing a trail and inspiring others to follow.

CSPC 2023 will present three Trailblazer Awards, one in each of the categories of Policy for Science, Science for Policy and Innovation Policy.

CSPC encourages nominations from all disciplines of policy and sciences (social and human sciences, mathematical, physical and life sciences, engineering and technology) and from all sectors (governments at all levels, academia, private and nonprofit sectors, media, and others). Please note that technological or scientific discoveries or inventions are not considered for this award.

Image of a leaf-shaped trophy on a blue background

2022 – Trailblazer Award Winner

Dr. Elicia Maine

Associate Vice-President, Knowledge Mobilization and Innovation, Simon Fraser University

Dr. Elicia Maine, Associate Vice-President, Knowledge Mobilization and Innovation at Simon Fraser University, was selected for her work on the i2I program, which was tailor-made to mobilize university research, teach science and technology commercialization, and develop an entrepreneurial mindset in graduate scientists and engineers. Dr. Maine recognized key gaps in our Canadian science innovation ecosystem: Canadian STEM researchers being underutilized, Canadian science breakthroughs being underdeveloped and scientists needing additional support to translate discoveries into value-creating products and companies. This program nurtures a pipeline of talent within the wider Canadian innovation ecosystem and is recognized globally because of its distinct approach to unleashing the innovation potential of STEM researchers.

2022 – Trailblazer Award Winner

Dr. Gregory J. Smallwood

Principal Research Officer, National Research Council of Canada

Dr. Gregory J. Smallwood, Principal Research Officer at the National Research Council of Canada, was selected for his work on international climate change-related policy, which comes at a critical time in efforts to achieve global policy agreements to reduce overall greenhouse gas emissions. His science-to-policy advocacy has had a dramatically positive impact on reducing global transportation-related black carbon and other nvPM that are key drivers of climate change and adverse health effects. In particular, his sustained and creative policy advocacy has resulted in one of the most significant changes to global aircraft engine emission standards since the 1980s.

2022 – Trailblazer Award Winner

Dr. Imogen Coe

Professor, Toronto Metropolitan University

Dr. Imogen Coe, Professor, Toronto Metropolitan University, was selected for her work on integrating the principles of equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) into the research ecosystem of STEM including into the policies and practices of funding agencies and government, and into the workplaces of commerce and industry where scientific knowledge may be generated or applied. Long before EDI became street-talk within government and academia, she recognized a problem endemic to science. She has had significant influence on where, when, and how EDI has been – and is being – integrated into policy developed by government, funding agencies, scholarly societies, post-secondary institutions, health-care entities, and commercial and not-for-profit enterprises. Imogen Coe has inspired a generation with her championship work on EDI.

A photo of a black woman smiling in a yellow suit and zebra print shirt

2021 – Trailblazer Award Winner

Josephine Etowa

Professor, University of Ottawa
Senior Investigator, Centre for Research on Health and Nursing

a bald white man smirking at the camera

2021 – Trailblazer Award Winner

Category: Science Policy

Yann Joly

Research Director, Centre of Genomics and Policy

A picture of a woman with curly hair holding a leaf-shaped glass trophy

2020 – Trailblazer Award Winner

Dr. Cara Tannenbaum

Scientific Director, The Canadian Institutes of Health (CIHR’s) Institute of Gender and Health
Professor in the Faculties of Medicine and Pharmacy, The Université de Montréal