Watch the CSPC 2021 Trailblazer Award Ceremony

The CSPC Trailblazer Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated novelty, creativity and impact through leadership, vision, courage, and commitment to the overall advancement of the science and innovation policy ecosystem. These individuals have been instrumental in the Canadian policy environment by boldly spearheading change via one or more transformative initiatives, all while blazing a trail and inspiring others to follow.

CSPC 2022 will present two Trailblazer Awards, one in each of the categories of Science Policy and Innovation Policy.

CSPC encourages nominations from all disciplines of science (natural sciences and engineering, social and human sciences, and health sciences) and policy, and from all sectors (governments at all levels, academia, private and nonprofit sectors, media, and others).

Image of a leaf-shaped trophy on a blue background
A photo of a black woman smiling in a yellow suit and zebra print shirt

2021 – Trailblazer Award (Innovation Policy) Winner: Josephine Etowa

Professor, University of Ottawa

Senior Investigator, Centre for Research on Health and Nursing

a bald white man smirking at the camera

2021 – Trailblazer Award  (Science Policy) Winner: Yann Joly

Research Director, Centre of Genomics and Policy

A picture of a woman with curly hair holding a leaf-shaped glass trophy

2020 – Trailblazer Award Winner: Dr. Cara Tannenbaum

Scientific Director of the Canadian Institutes of Health (CIHR’s) Institute of Gender and Health

Professor in the Faculties of Medicine and Pharmacy at the Université de Montréal